Last Updated: May 3, 2013
- Amazon App Store
Released in March 2011, the Amazon App Store runs inside Google's Android Market and its content is curated by reviewers. Android users may search, browse, and purchase apps in the store and special discounts on apps and a "free app of the day" may be offered.
AppsZoom searches for Android and/or iPhone apps. Apps may be downloaded from the site by using links or scanning QR Codes.
- Apple Web Apps
Easier to navigate than the iTunes App Store, allows users to search and browse iPhone and iPad web apps.
- Blackberry App World
Available online and as a download for Blackberry smartphones. Users may browse and search apps.
- Box Applications
Search applications that integrate with Box by function, platform, or cost.
- Evernote Trunk
Evernote Trunk is an app store for Evernote users and features nearly 100 add-ons for users of the Evernote mobile productivity app.
- Facebook App Store
The official App Store Facebook page, featuring free Apps of the Week, as well as updates to apps and newly released Apps, with links to the App Store for easy downloading.
- Google Play
Search or browse for Android apps from your device or online.
- Mobile Apps for Law
Mobile Apps for Law is a searchable database that includes links and information for more than 800 mobile apps for all kinds of devices. The database features a user-friendly interface that makes searching a breeze. For details about pricing, click HERE
- Ovi Store
This site allows Nokia smartphone users to search and browse apps compatible with their devices.
- webOS Nation (formerly Palm)
An app gallery for users to browse popular apps for HP WebOS.
A great tool for searching more than 210,000 iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch applications.
- USA.gov Mobile Apps
This site provides information and download links for a variety of mobile apps created by the U.S. government.
Mobile applications are becoming increasingly popular and relevant to all aspects of our daily lives. This LibGuide highlights a number of mobile applications that might be of interest to law students and lawyers. Please check each listing for download links for your specific device. If you know of a mobile app that is not listed in this guide, please let us know by sharing the link in the box below titled "Got Apps?"
Note: This guide is based, with her permission, on a template created by Vicki Steiner at the UCLA School of Law .
LawDojo (iOS & Android devices)
Law School Dojo is a quiz-based app with cartoons, crossword puzzles, and multiple choice questions to test yourself on legal subjects from serious (Fed Tax) to seriously silly (which SCOTUS justice are you?). Download the app for $1.99 for iOS at the iTunes App Store or for Android at Google Play or the Amazon App Store, then choose your add-ons for various subjects, ranging in price from FREE to $2.99. Click the above to download from iTunes or search for it on Google Play.
Wolfram Lawyer's Professional Assistant
The Wolfram Lawyer's Professional Assistant is a legal reference tool that provides access to a dictionary of legal terms, statutes of limitations for each state in the U.S., a tool for calendar calculations, a variety of calculators, and crime rate and demographic data. The app is powered by the Wolfram|Alpha computational knowledge engine and is compatible for use on all iOS devices. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for $4.99 using the link above.
My Legal Projects (iOS devices)
West's My Legal Projects is a handy productivity app that helps associates organize task lists and set up deadline reminders for legal research assignments. For each project, you can use the product details page to record key information about the project, such as jurisdiction, key terms, leading cases, and relevant statutes. Notes taken with the app can be shared via email or Bluetooth. The app can link directly into WestlawNext (subscription required). The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for $1.99 using the link above.
Kaplan MBE Flashcards (iOS devices)
KaplanMBE offers FREE MBE Flashcards and instructional videos in its mobile application, which students may use to supplement their studies for the Bar Exam. The app includes six instructional videos that highlight key concepts that appear on the MBE, and 425 terms, definitions, and concepts in the subjects of torts, constitutional law, evidence, criminal law and procedure, contracts, and real property. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store using the link above.
Please note that we are working hard to add more links to apps for non-Apple devices, such as Android, Blackberry, and HP webOS as they become available. If you know of a mobile application that might be of interest to law students and lawyers that is not listed in this Guide, please help make this Guide better by emailing Ellen (firstname.lastname@example.org) or by submitting a link to the app here. Simply click on the "Submit a Link" button below and enter the requested information. Thanks!