Skip to main content

RA Finding Articles Class: Finding Articles

Is it a Journal Article?

The traditional format for a journal article citation is:

Kristin Collins, A Short History of Sex and Citizenship: The Historians' Amicus Brief in Flores-Villar v. United States, 91 B.U. L. Rev. 1485 (2011).

Distinguish this from a chapter in a book:

Kay Deaux & Brenda Major, A Social-Pscyhological Model of Genderin Theoretical Perspectives on Sexual Difference 89 (Deborah L. Rhode ed., 1990).

Also be sure to distinguish from reports, many of which can be found on the Internet:

Office of Mgmt. & Budget, Exec. Office of the President, OMB Bull. No. 99-04, Revised Statistical Definitions of Metropolitan Areas (MAs) and Guidance on Uses of MA Definitions (1999).

One easy way to distinguish reports from journal articles is that the titles should not be italicized if cited correctly.  However, many authors incorrectly italicize them, so keep this category in mind if you're having trouble locating a source.

Finding & Using Bibliographies

Bibliographies are great because they do a lot of the work for you, by providing citations to articles and books on a particular topic.  Bibliographies are often published as articles, so you can search for them in indexes or full-text databases using subject or keyword searching.

Class Example: Find a bibliography on the Industrial Revolution.

Checking the Catalog for Print Journals

If the journal you want is not available online, do not despair.  A BU library may still have the journal available in print.  

Class Example- You need to find the following citation: David V. Forrest, The Eye in the Heart: Psychoanalytic Keys to Vietnam5 Journal of Psychoanalytic Anthropology 259 (1982).

Indexes

Indexes for Legal Journals

Class Example: Find citations for articles discussing International Development.

For Other Disciplines:

Use Mugar's Research Guides page to find an index in a relevant discipline.

Class Exercise: Your professor is interested in the history of the entail in England. (HINT: Think about the fields you want to search)

Finding Individual Journals

If you know the title of the journal, you can find it by searching the catalog on the library home page.  Once you enter the journal name in the title box, matches will appear that inform you of the databases that contain that journal and the years contained.

Class Example: You want to find an article from the Iowa Law Review.

Requesting an Article We Don't Have

If the article is not available online or in print, place a material request.  Our interlibrary loan staff will then ask another library to send the article.

Subject Guide

Law Reference