"The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History provides comprehensive coverage of political and legal history in the United States, covering for the first time in one reference work the key events, historical actors, presidential elections, court cases, and larger political and legal trends throughout American history. Entries capture the unique nature of the nation's founding principles embodied in the Constitution, the expansive nature of American democracy, political conflict, and compromise, and the emergence of the modern welfare and regulatory state, all of which evince the tensions, contradictions, and possibilities manifest throughout America's history. From presidents and Supreme Court judges to critical legislation and party formation, this work clearly demonstrates how U.S. politics and law have evolved since the colonial era, and encourages readers to anticipate further changes."
This collection contains 11 modules from the Harvard Law School Library including these notable selections: The papers of Supreme Court Justices Felix Frankfurter, Louis D. Brandeis and Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr. The papersof legal theorists' Albert Levitt and Livingston Hall, Richard H. Field and Roscoe Pound and Sheldon Glueck as well as those of William H. Hastie (America's first black Federal judge) and Zechariah Chafee Jr, the "dean of civil liberties scholarship" in the U.S.
For the period from1956-1965, this includes the working case files of the NAACP’s general counsel, Robert Carter. Among the topics covered in these cases are school desegregation, abuses of police procedure, freedom of speech, desegregation of public facilities, voting rights, housing discrimination, and employment discrimination. The files include the background correspondence of NAACP attorneys as well as court documents, including transcripts of court proceedings. A small sampling of the important cases in this module include NAACP v. Alabama (freedom of association), Gomillion v. Lightfoot (voting rights), Allen v. County School Board and Griffin v. County School Board (school desegregation in Virginia), Ogletree v. McNamara (employment discrimination), and Powell v. McCormack (seating of Congressman Adam Clayton Powell in the U.S. House of Representatives).
Covers the investigations made by the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) during the massive immigration wave of 1880-1930. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930, and European immigration. There are also extensive files on the INS’s regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.
Three major libraries make up this database including:
Series I: Petitions to State Legislatures offering, "access to important but virtually unused primary source materials that were scattered in state archives of Alabama, Delaware, Florida, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia. The collection includes virtually all extant legislative petitions on the subject of race and slavery."
Series II: "Petitions to Southern County Courts were collected from local courthouses, and candidly document the realities of slavery at the most immediate grassroots level in southern society. It was at county courthouses where the vast majority of disputes over the institution of slavery were referred. The petitions that were filed provide some of the most revealing documentation in existence on the functioning of the slave system."
Additionally, also included is "a master record of the laws governing American slavery, covering 1789–1865. Materials in the collection cover virtually every aspect of the regulation of Blacks of the period. With the slavery statutes available digitally, historians will have convenient access to revealing legislation on African American and southern history and culture."
JSTOR is a full-text collection of back issues (from volume 1 to approximately five years ago) of core scholarly journals. Includes journals in African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.
The HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations. (
Early English Books Online contains about 100,000 books in English published in the United Kingdom, British North America and elsewhere from 1473-1700. Books cover many subject areas including English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is an online library of over 136,000 titles and editions (over 155,000 volumes), published between 1701 and 1800, and printed in English-speaking countries, or countries under British colonial rule. The majority of works in ECCO are in the English language but there are also works printed in Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish and Welsh.Full-Text Searching of more than 26 million pages takes the user directly to Primary Source material in facsimile copy of its original.
The Making of Modern Law features a fully searchable database of approximately 10-million pages and from more than 22,000 works from the Nineteenth Century and Twentieth Century Legal Treatises collections, covering 1800-1926.
Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law database contains publications on English and American legal history including original source materials dating back to 1066 that have never been in print.